Sur Amboise

I wrote this for Amboise after our stay and have been debating whether to post it. It was inspired by wandering down some side streets.

Amboise
~

Sur Amboise

I walk by them.

They look up
disinterested
peering out from the darkness
sitting in heavy upholstered chairs
behind delicate lace curtains
bordered by dusty potted plants
amid columns of books.

Who are they who live
in crumbly concrete houses
that shake when delivery trucks
speed down their narrow cobblestone streets
Endless droves of tourists–their livelihood?

I look away
And keep walking
step, click, scuff
I have to turn sideways with my back against a laced window
to let a truck pass
Loose cement falls out of my hair as I step back onto the edge of the road.

Another face peers out
disapproving
I walk by it.

Leave a Reply

